Twinkies

Okay, you know you live in Albuquerque when all of a sudden in early October…

you look out your kitchen window and you see this:

Balloon 1 Balloon 2

It is time for the Albuquerque International Balloon Fiesta! I love this time of year in the Rocky Mountains.

Twinkies. Ahhh, a sudden flashback to the 80’s for me. Yes, I know Twinkies are still alive and well, but I do not think I have had a Twinkie since 1986. I personally do not care for them (I was more the Hostess Cupcake fan). I just wanted to see if I could pull it off! 😀

Gluten Free Twinkies

First you need a cream boat pan (a.k.a Twinkie Pan):

Twinkie Pan

I used Betty Crocker’s GF Yellow Cake Mix and made the batter according to the directions…although I used Smart Balance instead of butter.

I then filled each “boat” half full and baked for about 18 minutes in a convection oven at 325°F (or at 350° in a conventional oven).  The cakes came out a tad bit dry so next time I will shorten the cooking time to 16 minutes.

I removed the Twinkie cakes from the pan and allowed to cool on a cooling rack.

Once cool, I made the following recipe for the filling. The recipes is out of Elizabeth Barbone’s cookbook, “Easy Gluten-Free Baking”

Cream Filling p. 211

1/2 cup butter, softened (Smart Balance for me)

1/4 cup Vegetable Shortening (I used Crisco)

3/4 cup Confectioners’ Sugar

1 7 oz. Jar Marshmallow Creme (I used Kraft)

1 tsp. Vanilla Extract (I used clear)

  • In a medium bowl, cream together butter and shortening until light and fluffy. Use high speed on a handheld mixer or medium-high on a stand mixer.
  • Add confectioners’ sugar and blend until combined.
  • Add marshmallow cream and vanilla; mix until fluffy.
  • Fit a piping bag with a round tip and fill with filling.
  • Insert tip about 1 inch into the bottom of the cake.
  • Squeeze the pastry bag while slowly withdrawing the tip.
  • Repeat twice.
  • The finished cakes should have 3 holes each.
  • Flip cakes over so the smooth side is facing up.

Twinkie2

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]Sam and Luke liked these although they thought they were rather odd looking. That’s when it occurred to me that neither of them had ever had the iconic version before!
3 Responses

  1. Once again, you are way too cool! Where did you find the pan?

  2. […] I have a lot of folks taste test for me. I cook all day on most days when my boys are in school. A tweak here, a tweak there…I think it has become an obsession. Only a mild obsession though! LOL! There is nothing quite like having gone without for so long, and then figuring it out and finally getting it right. I do not do well with being told “no”, I never have. Tell me “no” to something and I become a very determined woman! For example: I was never a Twinkie fan, but once I knew I could NEVER have one again, (even though I hadn’t had one since I was probably 8 or so) all of a sudden, even a telephone pole looked like a Twinkie! I just had to have one! And only because I “technically” couldn’t! So I made my own. […]

Leave a Reply

