Gluten-Free “Magic Mix”

I am re-posting this recipe in a “cleaner” format. I use this recipe in my GF condensed soups. If you are new to my blog and are looking for a good condensed soup recipe to use in your favorite casserole recipes, you have really got to try this! I found the recipe a few months ago on a website called “Everyday Food Storage.” This is not a gluten-free website, but there are some really neat recipes than can be easily converted to gluten-free and dairy-free. The basic principle behind the website is how to cook with long-term food storage stuff like powdered milk, canned goods, dried foods, etc. While I have only tried the Magic Mix recipe thus far, there are some other recipes that might be worth looking at if you have had trouble finding commercial food products to fit your particular dietary restrictions. Crystal Godfrey (author of Everyday Food Storage) also offers some great tips on how to prep foods in advance to make cooking faster and easier for working parents or those that are new to cooking at home in general and don’t exactly “love” it like I do. 🙂 Just remember, it is not a gluten-free website, so you will have to make the appropriate substitutions if you are gluten-free.

Gluten Free Magic Mix

2 1/3 cups Dry Non-Instant Powdered Milk (I have been using the instant non-fat powdered milk available in grocery stores. I am going to try the Organic Valley Non-Instant Powdered Milk after I finish digging my way out of the instant powdered milk I bought from Costco! Click here for a list of Organic Valley’s Gluten-Free Products.)

1 cup Gluten Free All Purpose Flour (I have been using my Better Batter GF Flour recently, I have also used Tom Sawyer’s GF All Purpose Flour. I do not know if the xanthan gum and pectin/gelatin in those mixes makes a difference or not).

1 cup Butter, at room temperature (I use Smart Balance in the tub).

  • Combine all ingredients into a large mixing bowl.
  • Using a whisk attachment, mix ingredients together slowly at first, then gradually increase speed until incorporated.
  • Keep mix tightly covered in the refrigerator for up to 3 months.

Add GF Flour Blend, Powdered Milk and Smart Balance (or butter) in the bowl of your mixer.

Use the whisk attachment to cut in the butter. A beater will only "cream" the mixture (trust me on this). You could also do it the manual way using a pastry cutter if you do not have a stand mixer..

Go slow or you will have a major mess on your hands (trust me on this one too. 🙂 )

You want your GF Magic Mix to be granular, like cornmeal.

I store mine in an airtight container in my deep freezer, but you can also store it in the refrigerator.

Next up… recipes for:

GF Condensed Cream of Mushroom Soup

GF Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup

GF Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup

GF Condensed Cream of Celery Soup

I recently made the Magic Mix using Vance’s DariFree Non-Dairy Milk Powder and Earth Balance Natural Buttery Spread, but totally forgot to take pictures! It worked very well in the Condensed Soup Recipes but added a slight sweetness to the overall taste of the soups.

If you happen to try this recipe using other non-dairy milk powders, please come back an leave a comment on what you used and how it worked out! :-).

6 Responses

  1. […] Posts Gluten-Free "Magic Mix"Gluten-Free Condensed Mushroom Soup RecipeBetter Batter Gluten-Free Flour TortillasSausage and Bean […]

  2. […] Posts Gluten-Free Condensed Mushroom Soup RecipeGluten-Free "Magic Mix"Better Batter Gluten-Free Flour TortillasChoice Batter – Gluten Free Product Review"Girl Scout" Thin […]

  3. Just ran across your website and recipe for “magic mix”. I’m wondering about using it in a recipe that asks for 1 can of condensed soup and to add a can of milk. Have you tried that? Thanks so much!

    • Cheryl,

      I have not personally tried that yet, but if your recipe calls for adding a can of milk (I am assuming Evaporated?), then I would go ahead and do it. It actually sounds like a great idea, nice and creamy! What are you making? 🙂

      If you try the recipe, I would to hear how it worked for you! I am desperately seeking feedback!

      Heidi

  4. […] also use Better Batter GF Flour in my Gluten-Free Magic Mix, which I use in my gluten-free condensed soup […]

  5. […] Free "Goldfish" CrackersHomemade "Safe Cleanser" Recipe from the Dr. Oz ShowGluten-Free "Magic Mix"Gluten-Free Condensed Cream of Chicken […]

Leave a Reply

