Gluten-Free Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup

GF Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup

1 cup Gluten-Free Magic Mix

1/4 tsp. Onion Powder

3/4 cup Tomato Juice (see below)

  • Add Magic Mix, onion powder and tomato juice to a saucepan. Mix well.
  • Turn heat to medium and stir constantly until the mixture thickens (this does not take very long).

Use one recipe of this for each can of Condensed Tomato Soup called for in your recipe.

GF Magic Mix and onion powder mix.

add 3/4 cup tomato juice...

Stir until combined and turn heat to medium. Stir constantly until thickened.

Gluten-Free Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup

Comparison to the “real” thing:

It has been so long since I have seen this product that I did not realize it was just Condensed Tomato Soup and not Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup! I am glad I did the comparison, "anti-gluten garb" and all. In case you are new to my blog, I am a serious gluten-phobe, it makes me itch. Literally. (I have DH too...and the mere thought of an outbreak can reduce me to tears).

The texture and consistency of the Campbell’s is quite a bit thinner than what I came up with. The Campbell’s version is more like a thick Tomato Sauce. I will tinker around and see if I can come up with something more like the Campbell’s Condensed Tomato Soup (eventually, I am a bit backlogged at the moment 😀 ). Any which way, I have been using the GF Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup in all my recipes that call for Condensed Tomato Soup and we have liked it all the same, even if it does lend a creamier consistency to the finished product. Besides, it’s been 5 years… I have essentially wiped out any real memories of casseroles in my former gluten-life! 😉

And there it is...good ol' High-Fructose Corn Syrup! 😉

Okay, I couldn’t stop myself. Monopotassium Phosphate (this is only a clip from Wikipedia, click on the link for further info):

is a soluble salt which is used as a fertilizer, a food additive and a fungicide.

I love how they sandwiched “food additive” in between “fertilizer” and “fungicide.” Couldn’t they have at least put “food additive” first??

What I used in the Gluten-Free Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe (this is actually rather funny in an ironic sort of way!):

Campbell's! 🙂 So in a sense, you could call it Campbell's Gluten-Free Condensed Tomato Soup... LOL! Oh, I just caught this: see the little sign on the right? Made from "Peak Season" Tomatoes. Guess they saw Food, Inc. too. (I think I have lost my mind, I see it everywhere after watching that darned movie! 🙂 )

Click here for a list of Campbell’s Gluten Free Products.

Whoa! 680mg of Sodium! Didn't notice that before... 😀 I think I will be getting a lower sodium version next time (see this Mike?...this is why I take photos, for your grocery store tutorial!)

Since I do not drink tomato juice and I do not use condensed tomato soup all that often, I freeze the left over juice in ice cube trays to use as needed. :-)



2 Responses

  1. […] Gluten-Free “Magic Mix”adventuresofaglutenfreemom on Sausage and Bean RagoutGluten-Free Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup « Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom on Gluten-Free “Magic Mix”Christi S on Sausage and Bean RagoutJen on Choice […]

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by kbouldin and Heidi Kelly, Heidi Kelly. Heidi Kelly said: Gluten-Free Condensed Cream of Tomato Soup : http://wp.me/pDXIM-18J […]

Leave a comment