“The Future Of Food” Documentary

Okay, I admit it, I am always “a day late and a dollar short!” This documentary is from 2004 and I just watched it last night, in 2010, for the first time! So if you are anything like me and are just now starting to become more aware and are on a quest to know more about the quality of food in our nation’s grocery stores, the foods we assume are safe enough to feed our children and ourselves… you have got to watch this film.

If you do watch it, and especially if you have ever wondered to yourself (especially if you, or your child, or someone else you love has been affected) about this “seeming” onslaught of celiac disease and other forms of gluten-intolerance, food allergies, autism, ADD/ADHD and the like (just TOO MANY to list), but thought there had to be more to it than just “better testing” and “more awareness.” Pay attention to what is mentioned about the genetically engineered foods in relation to food allergies. There is also mention of GE (Genetically Engineered) wheat towards the end.

What is appalling to me is my own lack of knowledge. There is no labeling on the packages that say “You are eating genetically modified food, and in case you do not know what this is exactly, go to such and such website to learn more.” It wasn’t until very recently that I really started to notice all the “Non-GMO” labels on a package! “What’s a non-GMO?” I would ask myself. By the time I got home, I would always forget to look it up! What makes me the most ANGRY, is that I find myself to be a somewhat intelligent person and right now, I feel so so stupid.

So, I want to put that anger to good use and use my little voice to help spread the word. Even if 10% of this film is true (in case you are cynic like I used to be), 10% is enough to scare the hell out of me. Ignorance is not bliss (speaking from obvious experience) and the first thing any of us can do, is begin to “ask the next question…” (thank you Mary A. Schluckebier for the great quote!)

The following is the trailer for the film:

If it seems interesting to you, you can see the film in its entirety here (for free!):

http://www.snagfilms.com/films/title/the_future_of_food/

Just for kicks, check out this press release from Monsanto’s website.

I also want to be fair and show the other side. I am a 36 year old house wife living in the desert of New Mexico. I know nothing about gardening, let alone farming! I can read each sides’ version and come away seeing their point! I have no knowledge of my own, to prove or disprove either side, but I do have a very strong “gut” instinct (pun intended) that at the very least, what we do not know about our food supply is harming us at an alarming rate, and I am scared.

So here is the link to Monsanto’s “For the Record” page.

Like the way I try to manage our family’s celiac disease, I have learned to err on the side of caution. I would rather be safe than sorry (most of the time… I do like to go out to dinner with my husband on occasion, like I am tonight 😀 ), but we do not eat out often. Not even every month. It is a treat which makes me feel better about the risk of cross contamination, because it is ALWAYS there. Brings to mind the Wellshire Kids GF Corn Dog recall awhile back. Turns out they were not gluten free after all! Back to my point, whether this documentary is biased or not… I have decided to not take the risk anymore, it is not worth it.

Now I just have to figure out the next step to take!

Oh, yes, before I sign off… here is “one small step for Heidi-kind,” Mike and I are joining some friends for dinner tonight at a restaurant not far from here called Casa Vieja. Just look at the web page…Support Local Farms, Slow Food USA. I love it! The best part though for me? Check out the GF menu! WOO HOO!

Very Cool!

2 Responses

  1. Have you seen the movie Food Inc? I watched it the other day on Netflix and just sat in awe.
    When I lived in MD (about 5 years ago) we had our own little farm. We raised beef, chickens (for eggs) and had our garden. I’m ready to get back to that so I can know where my food comes from.

    Great post !!

    • Food, Inc,. yep, I’ve seen it! That film is actually what launched this new journey I am on. I have never paid much attention to documentaries like that before because a lot of them seem a bit (okay, a lot!) hokey to me. If you go to You Tube and look up a documentary called “The Bad Seed,” (on GMO food), and play it…first you see that it is produced by a company called UFO TV, and second, they add neon lights to the people in the intro…that is all I need to press the stop button. It makes me think of the Heaven’s Gate cult from a few years back. Whatever message they wanted to convey, was completely lost on me because of the way they tried to present the material. Just give me the facts. That is what I feel Food, Inc. did differently, and not only did they get through to me, I am now trying to do something about it, at least within my own family. I do not need all the bells and whistles to “spook” me, just give me the facts and let me make my own decision.

      It would be very cool to raise chickens but our neighborhood covenants will not permit us to do so. I am looking into where we can buy local, farm-fresh eggs though and we are going to try and grow our own garden. Until then (if we actually grow anything!) I am figuring out what produce to buy that is in-season, local and organic.

      We are also starting to buy grass-fed beef and Buffalo, as well as free-range chicken, and wild fish. Those are my immediate goals for now (along with getting rid of high-fructose corn syrup, and artificial sweeteners). Oye, so much new stuff to learn, but it is very cool and exciting. 🙂

      Any gardening words of wisdom to share? 🙂

Leave a Reply

