Gluten Free Goldfish Crackers, part deux

I think I have O.G.C.D. (Obsessive Goldfish Cracker Disorder).

The recipe that I posted back in August by Roben Ryberg (founder of the famous Ms. Roben’s) for Goldfish crackers just continues to amaze people at how much they taste like the Pepperidge Farms version. They are super easy to make and you can even get little goldfish cookie cutters online.

I tried something a little different this weekend just to see how it would work. I added food coloring. Normally, I only use or give the boys foods with artificial food colorings on special occasions, like in the icing for their birthday cakes, etc. But the more I read about this stuff, the more concerned I get. I am starting to look into natural food colorings derived from fruits and vegetables, heck I might even try to make my own!

But until then, maybe you will at least enjoy a good laugh at my O.C.G.D. 🙂

See what I mean? I am now making the smiley faces, just like the store-bought Goldfish! I need help...

Tie-Dye Goldfish! Like my "bubbles?" They do look like bubbles right? I promise there are no funny ingredients in my goldfish...LOL! 😀

In the bottom right is a little fish with no coloring added. The other orange fish you see is with orange coloring added.

8 Responses

  1. […] though, (especially if you are a lightweight like me)…I had a piece of this the night I made Tie-Dye Goldfish crackers! Seriously, looking at that post now, it all makes sense. […]

  2. Heidi,
    Bob loved your goldfish crackers. I had to add more moisture to the dough to make it rollable, so I used 2 Tablespoons light sour cream and worked great. I also added a teaspoon of paprika to give them some color. I think I rolled them thinner than I should as they didn’t puff up like yours, but he likes them thin and crispy anyway. I have been making Cheese crackers that was a Bette Hagman recipe. It has ricotta cheese, sour cream and parmesan cheese if you would like can send you the recipe.

  3. […] and make my own, now that I can make a gluten-free bagel!! Another cool idea might be to make some gluten-free Goldfish Crackers to […]

  4. […] this link for an update to this post, Gluten-Free Goldfish Crackers, part deux. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Gluten Free Cookie-Brownie Barsblue dominoes Safe […]

  5. […] think I see a new version of my O.G.C.D. coming on, […]

  6. these look awesome!!

  7. […] it really isn’t funny, or even a joke for that matter. I am delirious from making 1,000 gluten-free Goldfish Crackers (Kindergarten class project), plus some gluten-free “Nilla Wafers” and sugar cookies […]

Leave a Reply

