Cranberry Glop

When I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com, the title made me giggle so I had to try it out. I made this for the first time on Saturday and took it to my GIG Thanksgiving potluck. I had a few people say that they thought it was their favorite dish there! So if you are looking for a new cranberry recipe to try, you have to give this a go, not only is it delicious, but it is mostly healthy and a beautiful red color to boot!

Cranberry Glop
(My GF tweaks are in Red)

3 cups fresh Cranberries
3 cups Apples, peeled and coarsely chopped
3/4 cup White Sugar (if you are not a big fan of tart flavors, I have also tried increasing the sugar to 1 cup and it still turned out great)
1 cup Rolled Oats (make sure they are gluten free)
1/3 cup All-Purpose Flour (I used Tom Sawyer’s GF ALl-Purpose Flour)
1/2 cup Pecans, chopped
1/2 cup Dark Brown Sugar
1/2 cup Butter (I used Smart Balance in the Tub)
  • Preheat oven to 350° F. (175° C.).
  • Lightly grease a 3 quart casserole dish (I used cooking spray).
  • In a medium bowl, toss together the cranberries, apples and white sugar. Pour into the prepared casserole.
  • In a separate bowl; mix together the oats, flour, pecans and brown sugar. Spread evenly over the cranberry apple mixture and dot with butter.

I am going to try something new with my pictures and not embed them within the recipe. Over the holidays I was trying to print my own recipes and had a frustrating time to say the least! I wish they had a Print-Friendly button for WordPress.com!

I chopped my apples fairly big, maybe 1/4" cubes.

Toss apples and cranberries with sugar.

Pour in prepared dish.

Mix all of the ingredients for the topping together...

Spread topping over the fruit mixture and dot with butter (that is Smart Balance in the picture. Next time, I think I am just going to use 1/4 cup to reduce fat and calories).

Cover for the first 50 minutes then bake an additional 10 minutes uncovered.

Straight out of the oven. I love the color!

2 things here: 1) If you are dairy-free and have yet to try Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream, it is great! The above flavor is Vanilla Bean. I am not a big fan of ice cream because it is usually too heavy for me...this is perfect, reminds me of homemade! Watching portion control? I use a melon baller for my scoop of ice cream, just enough to satisfy the taste. 😉

Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream by Turtle Mountain

Also, Luke LOVES the Coconut Milk Yogurts, especially the Chocolate 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  2. Thanks for including this on your blog.
    It looks beautiful and is delicious.
    Thanks for sharing….Nancy

Leave a Reply

