Homemade “Nutri-Grain” Bars

I used to love Nutri-Grain bars, pre-celiac. I miss having something easy to grab for breakfast in the morning, that I actually like. I have tried all the GF cereal bars and while they are okay, they are not the same. I found this recipe and WOW! They taste just like I remember Nutri-Grain bars tasting! For the preserves, I used the last of my homemade raspberry preserves, but I think these would be great with any flavor jam or preserves…maybe even apple or pumpkin butter! Kellogg’s doesn’t offer this many options! 😉

Homemade Nutri-Grain Bars

1 box Betty Crocker Gluten Free Yellow Cake Mix

3/4 cup butter (I used Smart Balance)

2 1/2 cups Oats (I used Gluten-Free Oats)

12 ounces Preserves or Jam

1 Tbs. Water

  • Preheat oven to 375° F.
  • Melt butter or butter substitute.
  • Combine cake mix (just the powdered mix), and the oats in a large bowl; stir in the melted butter until the mixture is crumbly.
  • Measure half of this mixture into a greased 9 x 13 pan. Press into pan to cover the bottom.
  • Combine preserves and water; spoon over crumb mixture in pan and spread evenly.
  • Cover with remaining crumb mixture.
  • Pat firmly to make top even.
  • Bake for 20 – 25 minutes, until top is lightly browned.
  • Cool completely before cutting into bars.

Nutrigrain3

Nutrigrain4

Nutrigrain5

YUMMO!!!!

2 Responses

  1. On my way to try this! Will report back 🙂

    • Please do Tia! I never know if it is just “me” that thinks a recipe is a genuine “clone” of a gluten product!! 😉

      I haven’t looked at this post for a long time and just noticed that I did not link to the original recipe source, oops! I will try to find it and update with the link.

Leave a Reply

