Gluten Free Flour Tortillas

I was checking out Kimberly’s blog over at Gluten Free is Life. She and her kiddos were having lunch at Chipotle, which I have heard has quite a few yummy GF menu options. Unfortunately, there is not a Chipotle here in Albuquerque. Maybe that is because it is New Mexico and you would think there are a lot of Mexican restaurants that offer GF menu items…not so, a lot of restaurants here, especially the “Big” ones like Sadie’s (where there is often a 1 hour + wait) share common fryers for the tortillas chips and sopas. Most commercial chile sauces are roux based. Alas, I have created the Kelly Casita Restaurant here at home. All you need it good friends, a mean margarita (somehow tequila can make even the worst GF cooking disasters taste okay)!

I found this recipe on the Living Without website. It was reprinted courtesy of The Jane Boutel Cooking School (which just happens to be here in Albuquerque!!)

Gluten-Free Flour Tortillas

1 c. White Rice Flour (I used Superfine White Rice Flour from Authentic Foods)
1/3 c. Potato Starch
1/3 c. Tapioca Flour
1/3 c. Fava Bean Flour (I used Garfava Flour)
2 tsp. Xanthan Gum
1 tsp. Baking Powder
1/2 tsp. Sugar
1 1/4 tsp. Salt
2 Tbs. Shortening (I used Crisco)
3/4 to 1 c. Warm Water (I used the full 1 cup)

  • Combine all the dry ingredients, then cut in or work in the shortening using a pastry blender or 2 knives (I am lazy and threw it all in a food processor so it could do the work for me).
  • Add the warm water, starting with 3/4 c and mix well.
  • Continue to add water until a soft, cohesive dough is formed.
  • Heat a comal, tapa or griddle to medium heat. Then, form a ball of dough into a flattened disc, cupping the outside edges a bit to form a round. (As you can see in the photos below, I forgot to “cup” the outside!)
  • Using a bollilo or rolling pin, roll into a round disc about 1/8 inch thick and about 8 inches in diameter or to your preference.
  • Bake one at a time on a hot griddle until the surface bubbles. Turn only once, the first side should have brown flecks.
  • Bake until the second side has slightly browned – should be a very short time.
  • Keep warm in a tortilla keeper or wrapped in a cloth until served.

*When my tortillas came off the griddle, they did not remind me of the grocery store tortillas that you buy in a bag. They had a little crunch to them, not much, but enough to make them not very pliable.

A light bulb did go off though. The tortillas actually reminded me of PITA Bread!! I decided to cut a few “tortillas” into wedges, brush them with olive oil and sprinkle some kosher salt and oregano on them. Threw my new “pitas” in the oven at 425 for a few minutes until lightly toasted. I just happened to have some Tzatziki sauce on hand and wah-lah….delish! My husband took the whole plate!!

Sam, just kept eating the “tortillas/pitas” plain. What few I had left, I put in a ziploc bag to store. The next morning, when Sam wanted one for breakfast, I got a very exciting surprise…when I pulled one out, they were soft and pliable just like real flour tortillas!! We broke out in our “goofy, shocked it actually tastes good, oh, how our life has just changed for the better” dance. Think of a cross between the chicken dance and a seizure, I should get some video on it!!

In the first picture, I used a tortilla press to try and make perfect little circles. Not necessary, a rolling pin will also work, just be sure to use wax paper (it is GF dough after all!). I also sprayed the wax paper with Pam.

 
 Fresh off the griddle with Tzatziki Sauce
The morning after surprise…bendable flour tortillas that are not only edible but taste great!

Hey Udi’s… I am thinking that a packaged GF Flour Tortilla should be on your horizon!!

One Response

  1. I too vote for a gluten free flour tortilla and gluten free red enchilada sauce! Until then I'd just like to stop by for a margarita at the Kelly Casita Restaurant!

    Gluten Free Dee
    Dee Valdez
    Gluten Free Product Ambassador
    Udi's Gluten Free Foods
    http://www.Udisfood.com

Leave a Reply

