“Mommy McGriddle” Breakfast Sandwich

As a followup to my post yesterday on the Ian’s Wafflewich…I have a great little breakfast sandwich that my family loves. It’s a GF spin on the McDonald’s McGriddles Breakfast Sandwiches.

Use your favorite GF Pancake Mix (we always use Pamela’s Pancake and Baking mix at our house) to make your pancakes. Tip: I like to quadruple the batch each time I make pancakes, then, after they cool down to room temperature, I freeze them for quick access on any given moment, it’s kind of like buying the frozen GF pancakes at Trader Joes, just cheaper.

I also buy frozen scrambled egg patties (by Timber Ridge Farms* from my local Super Walmart) and sausage patties and just keep them on hand. When one of the boys wants a “mommy mcgriddle,” I pull out all of the ingredients, throw them in the microwave, add a little maple syrup to the inside of each pancake and there you have it! They are also very easy to transport, I wrap them in Kabnet Wax Deli Wrap paper for an authentic look.

* I just received ( 8/3/09) an official email from Select Foods re: the gluten free status of their scrambled egg patties:

Hi Heidi,
Thank you for contacting Select Food Products, we always enjoy hearing from
our customers. In reference to your question, yes, the Timber Ridge Farms
Scrambled Egg Patties can be eaten by someone on a gluten-free diet.
If you have further questions, please feel free to contact me any time.
Thank you,
Rosanne Finlay
3145 Fernbrook Lane N
Plymouth, MN 55447
763-550-1426 Office 763-550-1427 Fax
http://www.selectfoodproductsinc.com/

Leave a Reply

