GF Candy

Halloween Candy List – Gluten-Free Allergen-Free Status – 2009

Compiled by Alison St. Sure at Surefoodsliving.com. Allison is a GREAT resource, be sure to visit her site for more great information!

Mainstream candy listed by brand, in alphabetical order:

AIRHEADS

  • Airheads Bars regular and sour
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soybean oil, “processed in a facility that processes wheat flour”
  • Airheads Xtremes Rolls
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: wheat flour, soybean oil
  • Airheads Pops and Whistle Pops
    • Free of: peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy, wheat
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

ANNABELLE’S

  • Big Hunk
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts
    • Contains: peanuts, eggs, soy lecithin, “made in a facility that uses milk, egg, treenuts, wheat and peanuts”
  • Rocky Road
    • Free of: none of top 8!
    • Contains: milk, tree nuts (cashews), wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), soybean oil, “may contain peanuts, eggs, and flour”

CADBURY ADAMS

  • Swedish Fish
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sour Patch Soft and Chewy Candy Kids
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

CE DE CANDY

  • Smarties, Bubble Gum Smarties, Candy Money, Love Hearts, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, X-TREME Sour Smarties, Easter Smarties, Smarties Parties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen Statement (via web Oct 09): Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from all the known allergens, and they do not appear anywhere in our manufacturing facilities. Our new item, Bubble Gum Smarties®, may contain minute traces of soy lecithin. We sell our products to many different classifications of trade, including “re-baggers.” A “re-bagger” buys products from many different companies and re-bags them in their own packaging. We cannot verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, etc. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it was manufactured in one of our facilities and that it is allergen free.
Gluten Statement: Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.

FARLEY’S AND SATHER’S

  • Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of eggs
  • Rain-Blo Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk and peanuts
  • Atomic Fireball
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products containing traces of milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers, Jujufruits
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but made in allergen-free facility but packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.
  • Smarties
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Sweetarts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, but manufactured in a facility that manufactures products with traces of eggs and soy protein
  • Now and Later regular
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk, eggs
    • Contains: soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Now and Later Soft
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, milk
    • Contains: egg, soy (lecithin and oil), manufactured in a facility with products containing traces of milk
  • Brach’s Candy Corn and Gummi Candy Corn (not flavored candy corns — see below)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, contains sesame oil, on package it states: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein.”
  • Brach’s Caramel Candy Corn, Caramel Apple Candy Corn, Chocolate Caramel Candy Corn
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soybean oil, sesame oil, on package: “packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein”
  • Brach’s Mellowcreme Pumpkins
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on package: “Packaged on equipment that also packages products containing traces of milk, egg, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, and/or soy protein.”
  • Jujyfruits and Friends (Heide candies)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.

FERRARA PAN

  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Lemonhead, Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead and Friends, Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead, Jawbreakers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, states on packages of some: “this product was manufactured in a facility where peanuts, almonds, milk, cashews, macadamias, pistachios, soy and egg are used in the production of other products.”

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Do you process and pack products that contain allergens? We manufacture and pack products made with Peanuts, Almonds, Milk, Egg and Soy in our facilities. We have common use lines which means we process and pack products which contain allergens on the same lines on which we process and pack products which do not contain allergens. Ferrara Pan has established an Allergen Policy which calls for the segregation of allergen-containing products from those products which do not contain allergens. The Allergen Policy also calls for the segregation of different allergen-containing products and ingredients from each other.

Ferrara Pan’s Allergen Policy requires a thorough, monitored cleaning of the common use lines when switching from allergen-containing products to non allergen-containing products, and requires multi-departmental inspections as well as stringent verification procedures. The precautions and procedures which Ferrara Pan has implemented are in place to assure our customers that Ferrara Pan manufactures its food products in a safe and responsible manner. However, because Ferrara Pan recognizes the serious challenges which people with food allergies face when making their food choices, we disclose to our customers that certain allergens are used in our facilities and those products containing allergens are manufactured and packed on the same lines as products which do not contain allergens.

Gluten-Free Info: No Ferrara Pan products are packed on equipment that is also used to pack a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products contain wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made from derivatives of wheat, oat, rye or barley. No Ferrara Pan products are made with wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten. No Ferrara Pan products are made on equipment that is also used to make a product that contains wheat, oat, rye or barley gluten.

Gluten-free products: All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest, All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…), All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…), All Jujus, All Jelly Beans, Sour Jacks, Cherry Sours, Boston Baked Beans, Atomic Fireballs, Jawbreakers (Jawbusters), Red Hots, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireballs, Fruit Snacks, Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

HERSHEY

  • Kit Kat
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, soy (lecithin), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Twizzlers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, milk, soy, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten
  • Whoppers
    • Free of: tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt and wheat flour), milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Milk Chocolate Bars
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), manufactured on the same equipment that manufactures almonds”
  • Milk Duds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin)
  • Heath Minis
    • Free of: gluten/wheat, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, soy (lecithin), almonds
  • Kisses, Special Dark Kisses
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin
  • Almond Joy
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mounds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, peanuts
    • Contains: milk, almonds, soy (lecithin and oil), “manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts”
  • Mr. Goodbar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy (lecithin and oil)
  • Jolly Rancher Hard Candy and Hard Candy Sticks
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, nuts, peanuts, milk, soy (except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin)
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens, except for Jolly Rancher Doubles and Pops contain soy lecithin
  • Reese’s
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg, tree nuts
    • Contains: soy, peanuts, milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable. Do your products share plants & equipment? We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.

JELLY BELLY

  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

Allergen info (via email Oct 09): Jelly Belly beans are gluten-free, dairy-free and OU kosher. There are no eggs, fish or shellfish. Soy lecithin is used on Chocolate Pudding flavor. Otherwise no soy products. Some packages still on the market will carry an allergy statement “made in a plant that processes peanuts and tree nuts”.  The company no longer processes peanuts but some packages may remain in retail. It’s best the check the package to be sure. Also one new collection of flavors Jelly Belly SuperFruit flavors are made with all natural colors and flavors and was recently accepted by Feingold Association.

JUST BORN

  • Mike & Ike
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hot Tamales
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Peeps Pumpkins and Ghosts
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are your candies gluten-free? The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  Our gluten free brands are: MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlehem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their original packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453. We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any potential allergen warning on products that might be packaged elsewhere.

MARS and WRIGLEY

  • M & Ms Plain
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain peanuts”, soy (lecithin)
  • M & Ms Peanut
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin)
  • Snickers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, “may contain almonds”, peanuts, soy (lecithin and oil), egg
  • 3 Musketeers
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts
    • Contains: milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Milky Way
    • Free of: tree nuts
    • Contains: wheat/gluten (barley malt), milk, eggs, soy lecithin, “may contain peanuts”
  • Twix
    • Free of: tree nuts, eggs, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, milk, “may contain peanuts”
  • Starburst
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Skittles and Skittle Sour
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, soy, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Lifesavers Hard Candy and Lifesavers Pops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy (except some flavors, like Butter Rum)
    • Contains: soy lecithin (some flavors)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens
  • Hubba Bubba Gum, Glop, Max, Pop
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): read their policy on allergen labeling

NESTLE

  • Butterfinger
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, tree nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy lecithin and soybean oil
  • Crunch
    • Free of: nuts, egg, peanuts, wheat
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, gluten (barley malt), “made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Raisinets
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy lecithin, “made on equipment that also processes peanuts”
  • Bit-O-Honey
    • Free of: wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, almonds, egg whites, soy protein, “made on equipment that also processes other nuts and peanuts”
  • Baby Ruth
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, nuts, egg
    • Contains: peanuts, milk, soy

SPANGLER

  • Dum Dums, Chewy Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Circus Peanuts, Candy Canes, Chewy Canes
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy (see note below)

Allergen Info: *A note about soy. Our products, except Circus Peanuts, may contain trace amounts of soy oil, a processing aid in making candy. The soy oil has been refined, bleached and deodorized, a process that removes the protein that can cause an allergic reaction.  Because individual sensitivities vary, however, we have chosen to list the soy oil.

5 ways we make sure our products are allergy free.

  1. Our manufacturing facilities are 100% free of gluten (from wheat, barley and rye), dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish and shellfish.
  2. All Spangler Candy products are made on dedicated manufacturing equipment.
  3. We thoroughly clean every manufacturing line, every day.
  4. We notify all of our suppliers about our allergen standards. We also request an annual allergen report from each supplier to verify that the ingredients they provide are allergy free.
  5. At least twice a year, all of our products are tested for allergens by an independent food lab.

Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in the USA are free of peanuts, tree nuts, egg, gluten, and milk.  Dum Dum Gum Pops and Dum Dum Chewy Pops made in Brazil are manufactured in a facility where peanuts and milk are used in the manufacturing of other products.  Please check the back panel for country of origin.

TOOTSIE

  • Charleston Chew (including minis)
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, egg
  • Charms Blow Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Charms Flat Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “Milk and soy may be present”
  • Dots, including Bat Dots, Candy Corn Dots and Ghost Dots
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens (except Yogurt Dots)
  • Tootsie Pops
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil and soy lecithin)
  • Tootsie Rolls and Fruit Rolls:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: milk, soy (soybean oil)
  • Junior Mints:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), “milk and egg may be present”
  • Junior Mints Inside Outs:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), contains milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Junior Caramels:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: soy (soya albumin), milk, “eggs may be present”
  • Dubble Bubble Bubble Gum:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg
    • Contains: “milk and soy may be present”
  • Sugar Babies:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, soy, “egg may be present”
  • Sugar Babies Caramel Apple:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten
    • Contains: milk, contains egg
  • Sugar Daddy:
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, egg (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)
    • Contains: milk, soy (Sugar Daddy Giant contains egg)

    Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At this time, all of our confections are completely peanut, tree nut and nut product free. We have no peanut or tree nut products in any of our facilities. At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. All Tootsie products are gluten-, peanut-, and nut product-free. Corn and soy products are used during the manufacturing process.

WELCH’S

  • Fruit Snacks
    • Free of: nut, peanut, wheat/gluten, soy, egg, milk
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens

WONKA

  • Bottlecaps, Everlasting Gobstopper, Chewy Gobstopper, Runts (not Chewy), Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour, Pixy Stix, Sweetarts (regular), Tart N Tinys, Nerds
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: None of top 8 allergens
  • Chewy Runts, Laffy Taffy Stretchy and Tangy, Giant Chewy Sweetarts, Mini Chewy Sweetarts, Sweetarts Chewy Twists, Sweetarts Shockers, Chewy Tart N Tinys
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, soy
    • Contains: egg
  • Laffy Taffy, Laffy Taffy Rope, Sweetarts Chew
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts, egg
    • Contains: soy lecithin in Laffy Taffy, soybean oil in Sweetarts Chew
  • Sweetarts Gummy Bugs, Sweetarts Rope
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts, egg, soy
    • Contains: wheat/gluten, Gummy Bugs made on equipment that also processes milk

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Labeling regulations require that if any of the eight recognized known allergens are in the product, they must be listed in the ingredient statement. We always list the allergen by the common name.

Additionally, our factories, that use any of the recognized allergens as an ingredient, take all precautions to avoid cross contact of products that do not contain them. We always add a cautionary statement at the end of our packaging ingredient listing if a product is made on the same line or factory of those products containing a recognized allergen. It is recommended that you always check the label before purchasing a product.

Here is a list of natural and specialty candy companies – great for kids with food allergies!

AMANDA’S OWN CONFECTIONS (www.amandasown.com)

  • Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Our products are only made from DAIRY FREE and TREE NUT FREE and PEANUT FREE semi-sweet chocolate.  The chocolate is made on dedicated equipment that is free of all dairy and nut ingredients.  We do not use dairy or nuts in any of our products so there is no chance for cross-contamination of our ingredients. Our products are also egg-free & gluten-free!

ANNIE’S

  • Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks (Flavors: Tropical Treat, Berry Patch, Sunny Citrus, Summer Strawberry)
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): This product does not contain the following eight allergens and are not made on shared equipment with wheat, dairy, soy, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, crustaceans/shellfish, and egg.

CHOCOLATE DECADENCE (www.chocolatedecadence.com)

  • Chocolate Halloween shapes and chocolate bars
    • Free of: milk, wheat/gluten (except pretzel items), egg
    • Contains: soy (lecithin), some contain nuts, peanuts

DIVVIES (www.divvies.com)

  • Boo x2 Chocolate Ghosts, BinGo! Divvine Chocolate Bar, Benjamint Crunch Bar, Halloween Jelly Beans
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk
    • Contains: soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Divvies candies, frosting, and sprinkles are certified by their manufacturers to be peanut-, tree nut-, milk-, egg-free, and sesame-free and are packaged in Divvies Bakery. Divvies conducts routine testing to minimize the risk of any cross-contamination in their certified allergen-free ingredients.

ENJOY LIFE (www.enjoylifefoods.com)

  • Boom CHOCO Boom Dark Chocolate Bar, Crispy Rice Bar, Milk Bar
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, peanuts, nuts, egg, milk, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens. Made in a dedicated nut- and gluten-free facility

PURE FUN (www.organiccandy.com)

  • Lollipops, Cotton Candy, Hard Candies, Chocolate Meltdowns
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): At Pure Fun™, our core principle is to provide products that are free of known allergens with NO pesticides, NO Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO’s), NO cholesterol, NO transfats, NO chemicals, NO gluten, NO synthetic flavors and NO artificial FD&C colorants. Pure Fun™ is truly “Better for you candy©”, retaining the natural nutrients of pure cane juice. The Pure Fun™ brand is synonymous with the highest organic, Kosher and Vegan standards.

SURF SWEETS (www.surfsweets.com)

  • Gummy Worms, Gummy Swirls, Gummy Bears, Fruity Bears, Jelly Beans, Sour Worms, Sour Berry Bears
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Are your products gluten-free and casein-free? Yes, all of our products are both gluten-free and casein-free. Casein is the protein found in dairy.
Are your products peanut-free? Yes, all of our products do not contain peanuts and are produced and packaged in a facility free of peanuts.
Are your products produced and/or packaged in a facility with other common allergens? No, our products are produced in a facility free of: wheat, dairy, soy, eggs, tree nuts, nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Surf Sweets products are made with natural colors and flavors, organic fruit juice and sweeteners, and provide you with your daily allowance of Vitamin C. We are also one of the only candies made without corn syrup.

VERMONT NUT FREE CHOCOLATES (www.vermontnutfree.com)

  • Assorted chocolates
    • Free of: nuts, peanuts
    • Contains: depending on the selection, wheat, milk, egg, soy (lecithin)

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09):
Our entire selection is completely safe for those with any tree nut or peanut allergy but can also be enjoyed by anyone who loves fine chocolates.
Regarding dairy: Although our solid dark chocolate items do not contain any dairy ingredients, they are processed on shared dairy equipment and are labeled as such. Additionally, most of the items that we make are in milk chocolate and we always have lots of dairy ingredients around in the same production area so we could not consider our solid dark chocolate items to be truly dairy free. If the dairy allergy in question is more than a mild one and you have concerns about possible dairy traces, we would not recommend our solid dark chocolate items.
Regarding eggs: We do make some products that contain egg ingredients. The Orange-Apricot truffles, orange creams and the raspberry creams as well as our fudge and candy corn all contain eggs or egg products as an ingredient. All of our other filled (boxed) chocolates as well as the mini twist pretzels are processed on the same equipment. All of our solid chocolate items, in both milk chocolate and dark chocolate, are processed on different equipment than is used for the egg containing chocolates. Our solid chocolate items include the chocolate bars, pops, coins, drops, chips, bugs and holiday novelty items.

YUMMY EARTH (www.yummyearth.com)

  • Lollipops, Candy Drop, Gummy Bears, Gummy Worms
    • Free of: wheat/gluten, milk, nuts, peanuts,egg, soy
    • Contains: none of the top 8 allergens

Allergen Info (via web Oct 09): Are any of the major allergens, including peanuts or tree nuts, used in your product?  No, plus our plant does not produce anything
with tree-nuts or peanuts. YummyEarth’s organic lollipops and drops are enjoyed by corn sensitive people around the world.

Looking for non-candy ideas for Halloween? Read How to have an allergy-free Halloween.

Gluten Free Candy List compiled by Silly Yaks

“ROCK”TOBER 2009

Disclaimer:  This list is for reference only and the user should contact manufacturers directly.  It is a guideline and the user accepts full responsibility for use of it.  At the time of it’s posting, it is believed to be accurate with current gluten-free information.  As a gluten-free consumer, you are responsible for making your own food selections.  I am not a medical expert; I’m a mom of a Celiac third grader who is always on a quest for gluten-free knowledge.

Notes:  Please beware of candy that is not in its “normal shape.”  Often times, that means the ingredients are different, and could very well contain gluten.   Bags of mixed treats that do have gluten containing treats that touch each other should be discarded due to cross-contamination.  If there is a treat that may not be listed on here, do not be alarmed… just check with the manufacturer.  I couldn’t get them all on here and I’m sure there are some I have forgotten or overlooked.

Thanks:  I would like to thank all of the people who have shared information to make this list possible… including several ROCK leaders over the past few years.  Thanks to EVERYONE who responded in my quest for helping with the update of my list from previous years.

~ Have a Spook-tacular Halloween!!!

Melonie Katz  (October 24, 2009)

GLUTEN FREE “SUGGESTIONS”:

ACT II Popcorn Balls   (October 20, 2006)  1-800-736-2212 Manufactured by ConAgra Foods, confirmed by phone rep that ACT II Popcorn Balls are Gluten-Free

After Eight Dinner Mints  (no date) Airheads (October 2008)  No gluten containing ingredients listed, but label clearly indicates “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour. “  Website also states under allergen information, “Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour.“

Allan Brand Candy Canes

Almond Joy (see Hershey’s)

Altoids – gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley, or oats (Kraft product)   (note from Melonie:  Altoids Sugar Free Mints clearly list wheat maltodextrin on the ingredient label as of October 24, 2006)

Ande’s Mints (See Tootsie Entry)

ANDI Bars (Gluten Free and Casein Free) available through www.glutenfreepantry.com

Astro Pops

Bazooka Gum (August 2004)

Beechnut: Peppermint, Spearmint, Cinnamon flavors (September 2003)

Big League Chew Gum (Original, Grape, Strawberry)

Break Bar by Glutino (looks/tastes like a Kit Kat, but it IS gluten-free, whereas KitKats are not) available at www.allergygrocer.com

Breath savers Mints (Sugar Free, Iced Mint, Mint Cinnamon, Peppermint, Spearmint, Vanilla Mint, WinterGreen)

Bubbilicious Gum  (April 2003)

Bubble Yum Gum

Cadbury Candy Bars (Fundraising Bar, Bunnies, Caramilk, Caramilk Roll, Crunchie, Dairy Milk, Easter Egg Creams, Easter Parade, Fruit & Nut, Golden Caramel, Hazelnut, Mini Eggs, Roast Almond, Rum & Butter)

Cadbury List (October 24, 2009)  What are food allergens?  Food allergens are any substances which may cause “allergic reactions” of the immune system in some individuals.  Allergens are naturally present in foods but can also occur through cross contact; during processing; cooking or digestion. Common food allergies include milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts and shellfish. These foods are perfectly safe for the majority of people but may cause a reaction in some individuals.  How do you manage food allergens that are present in your products?  As part of our good manufacture practice and food safety schemes we have compiled a global list of known food allergens which is constantly updated. By working closely with all of our suppliers we are able to identify any potential allergens that may be present in our products and then label those products accordingly. All of our employees are educated in the importance of allergen management while our ingredient suppliers, contractors, packagers, bottlers and licensees are required to meet our Global Supplier Standard, which allows us to identify the potential presence of major allergens.  http://www.cadbury.com/ourresponsibilities/consumer/todaystopics/Pages/foodallergens.aspx

CAMBRIDGE BRANDS, INC. (October 2005) (thank you for contacting us.  We are delighted to be able to inform you that, at this time, to the very best of our knowledge, all of our confections are gluten free.  We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts.  We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.)

    • Junior Mints,
    • Charleston Chew
    • Junior Caramels
  • Candy Corn by Goelitz (October 2003) is also VEGETARIAN. Verified: 10/22/03
  • Candy Corn by Target Department Store (October 1, 2007):  Candy Corn, Indian Corn, Candy Pumpkins, Autumn Mix
  • Carefree Gum  (September 2003)
  • CELLA’S CONFECTIONS (See Tootsie Entry)
  • Certs Mints
  • Charleston Chews (see Tootsie Roll Industries)
  • Charms Company (see Tootsie Roll Industries)
  • Chicklets – regular and tiny size (January 2004)
  • Clark Bars (see Necco Entry)
  • Clorets Gum
  • Clorets Mints
  • Dentyne Gum all September 2003
  • Double Bubble Gum (October 2003)
  • Dove  (October 23, 2007); see Masterfoods/M&M Mars entry
  • Eclipse Gum (see Wrigley’s)
  • EnjoyLifeFoods 2-pack cookies – GF and available through www.glutenfreemall.com
  • EnviroKidz Cereal Bars (marked gluten-free)  (October 24. 2009)
  • Extra Gum (see Wrigley’s Entry)
  • Farley:   (September 2003)
  • Farley’s (October 24, 2009):  http://www.farleysandsathers.com/faq.htm#Allergen
Allergen/Gluten List Policy
For product specific information regarding the Big 8 allergens and cross-contamination associated with these allergens, please contact Farleys & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. Consumer Relations at 1-888-247-9855 or complete our Feedback form to receive information. Due to changes that may occur in the manufacturing and packaging environments, Farley’s & Sathers Candy Company, Inc. does not provide allergen or gluten free lists.
  • Ferrera Pan:  (Octrober 24, 2009)  Ferrara Pan:  FERRARA GLUTEN FREE CANDIES  (October 24, 2009 from website) I have celiac, will I be able to enjoy any of your candies? People with celiac can enjoy the following candies:
  • Florida’s Natural Brand:  gluten Free Healthy Treats Fruit Juice Nuggets and Sticks.    Bag is clearly labeled Gluten-Free right on the front.    (October 20, 2007)  made by ausome snack naturally, inc.    www.ausomesnacknaturally.com (I found these at Target Department store in Northern Virginia).   They are also kosher, no gelatin, nut free, fat free, no trans fat, no preservatives, no artificial colors, excellent source of vitamin C, all natural flavors and made from real fruit puree.  The flavors are orange, strawberry and blueberry.
  • Freedent: peppermint, spearmint, winter fresh  (September 2003)
  • Fresh Fruit, Of course!!!!
  • FruitaBu:  (October 24, 2009)  Q: I have a gluten intolerance (celiac disease). Can I eat Stretch Island Original Fruit Leathers and FruitaBü® Fruit Flats?  A: Yes! Celiac sufferers and their parents or caregivers especially appreciate Stretch Island Fruit snacks, since it’s so straight forward: 100% all-natural. The question regarding gluten in our product arises from concern over the ingredients used in the natural flavorings that are added to certain flavors — specifically alcohols and/or vinegars that may be included. All of our flavor suppliers have provided us with written statements that there is no gluten in the flavorings that they supply us.  http://www.stretch-island.com/about.html#q4
  • Fruit by the Foot by General Mills (October 2007)
  • Fruit Gushers by General Mills  (October 2007)
  • Fruit Roll Ups by General Mills  (October 2009)  note from Melonie:  Fruit Roll Up packages now say “gluten free” on them.  Please double check in case there may be a new flavor.  However, I believe they are all okay.
  • Fruit Stripe gum – all (September 2003)
  • General Mills general statement: read label.  Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed
  • Glenny’s Potato Crisps and Soy Crisps (October 23, 2007) (assorted flavors are gluten free and can be found at www.glennys.com Glenny’s soy crisps offers a delicious and healthy snack alternative to greasy potato chips. Low in fat and calories and high in energy-boosting soy protein. Wheat & Gluten-Free.  Glenny’s Organic Soy Crisps are a delicious baked snack made with organic soy and organic rice flour. Each serving has 7 grams of heart-healthy soy protein, is gluten free and is also naturally cholesterol free.
  • Gobstoppers
  • Great Value Brand (Wal-Mart’s generic brand) has Gummie Worms and Gummie Bears in large packages and are clearly marked gluten-free on the back of the bag (October 23, 2007)
  • Heide products:  all products made gluten-free in GF plant
  • Hershey’s (October 20, 2006)  1-800-468-1714  Monday – Friday 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET Food Allergies  What is a food allergy?  It is an adverse reaction to a food or food component that involves the body’s immune system. How does The Hershey Company manage allergies? The Hershey Company strives to provide its consumers with accurate, reliable ingredient statements upon which consumers can make their purchase decision. The Hershey Company has an Allergy Task Force that ensures that the ingredient statements are always accurate, and that any allergen statements placed on the label is understandable.  Do your products share plants & equipment?  We take food allergies very seriously at Hershey and have strict procedures in place to prevent crossover of allergens into other products that do not contain the allergen. In instances where we have a concern about possible crossover by an allergen we take the added precaution of including an allergy information statement on the label.  Can you send me an allergen list?  We have found that allergen lists quickly become outdated as our product lines change over time. Rather than have you make purchase decisions based on outdated information, we encourage you to check the ingredient label on the package. This label provides accurate, current information about all the ingredients in the package.Hershey’s does not have GF info on their website and does not have a “GF List” at this time, but they are supposedly working on one.  Their phone rep was able to tell me if specific candies were GF if I asked by product name.  (I did not inquire on all of their products, so just because it may not be listed below, that does not mean that it isn’t GF).  The following products are GF at this time:
    • Hershey’s Plain Chocolate Sticks
    • Hershey’s Kissables
    • Hershey’s Plain Swoops
    • Hershey’s Hugs
    • Hershey’s Kisses
    • Hershey’s Plain Chocolate Bars
    • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups
    • Reese’s Pieces
    • Hershey’s Skor Bar
    • York Peppermint Patty
  • Hershey’s Kisses with Almonds
  • Hershey’s Giant Kiss
  • Hershey’s general statement: check label.  Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats
  • Hot Tamales (February 2004)
  • Ice Breakers Gum
  • Jelly Belly Jelly Beans:  (October 24, 2009) Are your Jelly Belly jelly beans gluten-free?
  • All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest
  • All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…)
  • All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…)
  • All Jujus
  • All Jelly Beans
  • Sour Jacks
  • Cherry Sours
  • Boston Baked Beans
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Jawbreakers (Jawbusters)
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Fruit Snacks
  • Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy

Question: Are your Jelly Belly jelly beans gluten-free?Answer: All flavors of Jelly Belly beans are free of gluten. We do not use any wheat, rye, barley, or oats in the basic recipe for Jelly Belly jelly beans. The modified food starch listed on the package is cornstarch.

  • Jolly Rancher Products, Lollipop, JellyBeans  (See Hershey’s product.  Check label.  Gluten in Hershey’s products will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats)
  • Junior Mints (See Tootsie Roll Industries)
  • Just Born: (October 24, 2009)   from their website:  Are your candies gluten-free?   The modified food starch that we use in our candies in corn starch.  We are in the process of updating our package labels to reflect products that are gluten free.  Our gluten free brands are: MIKE AND IKE® Brand Candies, HOT TAMALES® Brand Candies, PEEPS® Marshmallow Candies, PEANUT CHEW® Brand candies, TEENEE BEANEE® Jelly Beans and JUST BORN® Jelly Bean. This information pertains to all Just Born candies that we make and package at our two manufacturing locations (Bethlethem, PA and Philadelphia, PA) and are in their orginal packaging. Please be aware that we do sell some of our products in bulk to other manufacturers who may be repackaging them in another facility.  We encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for any gluten information on products that might be packaged elsewhere.  For further questions, we recommend consumers call our Consumer Relations Team toll-free at 1-888-645-3453
    • MIKE AND IKE
    • HOT TAMALES
    • PEEPS
    • PEANUT CHEW
    • TEENE BEANEE JELLY BEANS
    • JUST BORN JELLY BEANS
  • Kettle Valley brand Fruit Leather (October 24, 2009)   (available at www.allergygrocer.comhttp://www.kettlevalley.net/realfruit/schoolnutrition.htm?spacer=&spacer&dept_id=10&pricecat=1&affiliateid=&refid=&mscssid=txe8um1dje7e8jsnks5djwxfrv16fw65 What we don’t add – Real Fruit Snacks are free from added sugars, corn syrup, preservatives, artificial flavors and artificial colors. They are also wheat free, dairy free, gluten free and nut free.
  • Kraft will list major allergens  (October 20, 2006) http://www.kraftfoods.com/health/articles/gluten_free_0623031.pdf Carefully read the ingredient statements on all food labels each time you make food selections. This enables you to obtain the most accurate ingredient information for the specific products you select. It also allows you to get the most current information since ingredients in products may change over time. The ingredient information on labels of Kraft products is very specific to help you make accurate and informed choices. If a Kraft product contains gluten, a source of gluten will be listed in the ingredient statement, no matter how small the amount.
    • For labeling purposes, we include wheat, barley, rye and oats as sources of gluten. 1)   If A Kraft product has a gluten-containing grain. The grain is listed in the ingredient line using commonly known terms such as wheat, barley, rye or oats.  2)  If A Kraft product is made with an ingredient that contains a source of gluten and that ingredient is the only source of gluten in the product. The grain source is listed in parentheses after the ingredient. This method is used, as necessary, to identify ingredient sources for natural flavor, modified food starch and others.
    • Tips About Common Ingredients:  Food Starch and Modified Food Starch: When listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products, “food starch” and “modified food starch” often refer to corn starch. Our ingredient suppliers assure us that the corn starch we use in our products does not contain gluten. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten- containing source, such as wheat starch, the source will always be identified in the ingredient statement. HVP (Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein): If a Kraft product uses hydrolyzed vegetable protein, the source will always be identified in the ingredient statement. Mustard/Mustard Flour: This ingredient does not contain gluten. Vinegar: When listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products, distilled vinegar is used. According to our ingredient suppliers, the distilled vinegar we use does not contain gluten.
    • Conclusion:  We realize that making accurate food choices is important to people who follow a gluten-free diet. To help you make appropriate food selections, ingredient statements of Kraft, Oscar Mayer and Nabisco products clearly identify any product that contains a source of gluten. Please remember to carefully read ingredient statements each time you make food selections. For personalized information about your medical condition, seek the advice of a health professional and specialty resources. Labeling practices and tips are based on Kraft Foods approach to manufacturing and labeling products. Practices used by other manufacturers may differ. Check with a health professional for personalized medical advice.
  • Kraft Mini Marshmallow Snack Packs (October 20, 2006)   http://www.kraftfoods.com/jetpuffed/ INGREDIENTS: Corn syrup, sugar, food starch – modified (corn), dextrose, water, gelatin, tetrasodium pyrophosphate, artificial and natural flavor, artificial color (blue 1).
  • Laffy Taffy by Willy Wonka (October 23, 2007)
  • Lifesavers general statement: gluten will be listed on label as wheat, rye, barley or oats (Kraft product)
  • Lifesavers Gummies
  • Masterfoods USA Policy on Allergen Labeling /Mars Snackfood US Policy on Allergen Labeling (last updated on their website August 20, 2007 and retrieved October 24, 2009)  At Mars Snackfood US, we take food allergies very seriously because they directly effect our consumers. We have an extensive allergen management program which includes staff training, evaluating our ingredients and validating our cleaning procedures.  In order to avoid an allergic reaction to food, you must avoid the allergen. To do so, you count on the ingredient statements on food labels to be truthful and accurate. We want you to be able to trust the information on our labels. At Mars Snackfood US, our goal is to provide safe, high-quality food products for our consumers. Therefore, we have developed strict rules about the labeling of allergens on our products.
    • Our allergen labeling policy consists of two parts:
    • I. The labeling of allergens that are part of the recipe:
    • 1) We always declare the presence of any top allergens (peanuts, tree nuts, milk, egg, soy, wheat, fish and crustacean shellfish) whenever they are part of the recipe, regardless of the source (e.g., flavors, spices, colors, other minor ingredients).*
    • 2) We label these allergens in commonly understood terms at least once within the ingredient listing (e.g., casein, a protein found in milk)
    • II. The use of “May Contain <allergen>” labeling:
    • It is our company policy that if the protein from any one of the top eight allergens* were to be unintentionally transferred from one product/ingredient to another, then we would clearly indicate this in a statement just below the ingredient declaration (“Allergy Information: May Contain <allergen>”). As a result, we use the “May Contain <allergen>” statement when:
    • We have used all reasonable means to eliminate the allergen cross contact; and we have documented proof that, despite our best cleaning efforts, allergen cross contact exists.
    • Position of Allergen Advisory Labeling Statements:
    • The primary source of information for consumers about the allergen status of our products is the wrapper in which the product is sold. Our company guidelines state that when an allergen advisory statement is required, it will:
    • Appear below/adjacent to the ingredient declaration
    • Not be obscured by the package (e.g., folds, label overlap, crimps)
    • Be clearly legible
    • Always Read the Label
    • The label is the best source in determining what is in the product. If you are allergic or sensitive to certain foods or ingredients, you should always read the ingredient statement and any allergen statements to ensure the product does not contain ingredients of concern to you.
    • For consumers who would like additional information, we are pleased to provide a toll-free number on all of our product packages. You may contact Consumer Care at 1–800–627–7852.
    • For general information about food allergies, please visit the website of the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network: http://www.foodallergy.org/
    • * The top eight allergenic foods responsible for greater than 90% of the adverse reactions in people of the U.S. are: milk, eggs, fish (e.g., bass, flounder, cod), crustacean shellfish (e.g., crab, lobster, shrimp), tree nuts (e.g., almonds, walnuts, pecans), peanuts, wheat, and soybeans. Source: FDA website (http://www.cfsan.fda.gov/~dms/alrgact.html).
    • On the phone (October 4, 2007), they will report these as Gluten-Free:
    • M&M
    • All M&M’s (except crispy, they said on the phone that they do not make them anymore but I still think they should be included)
    • Milky Way Midnight
    • Milky Way Chocolate covered Carmel (NOTE:  the original “The Milky Way bar” is NOT gluten-free)
    • Dove Milk
    • Dove Dark
    • Dove Carmel
    • Munch bar
    • Starburst products
    • Skittle products
    • Snickers
    • Snickers Dark
  • M&M’s – Plain  (October 2009)    The M&M allergen portion website has not been updated since October 2007
  • M&M’s – Peanut (no date)
  • Manischewitz:   Milk and Dark Chocolate Coins  (October 26, 2008)
  • Gluten FreeKosher for Passover
    Cappaccino Chip Macaroons
    Caramel Cashew Patties
    Chocolate Chip Macaroons
    Chocolate Chunk Cherry Macaroons
    Chocolate Frolic Bears
    Maxs Magic Lollycones
    Chocolate Macaroons
    Chocolate Morsels
    Coconut Macaroons
    Banana Split Macaroons
    Toffee Crunch Macaroons
    Fruit Slices
    Mini Sour Fruit Slices
    Fudgey Nut Brownie Macaroons
    Hazelnut Truffles
    Honey Nut Macaroons
    Horseradish (All)
    Mallo Cups
    Marshmallows
    Passover Noodles
    Peppermint Patties
    Potato Chips – All Varieties
    Potato Starch
    Raspberry Jell Bars
    Rocky Road Macaroons
    Salt
    Swiss Chocolate Mints
    Tender Coconut Patties
    Ultimate Triple Chocolate Macaroons
    Vegetable Oil
    Viennese Crunch
  • Mars Bar
  • Marvel Candy Sticks (marked as gluten-free) and found at some Wal-Mart stores
  • Mary Janes (see Necco Product entry)
  • Mega WarHeads (June 2003)
  • Mike and Ike (February 2004)
  • MILKY WAY® Brand Milk Chocolate Covered Caramels (October 26, 2008http://www.milkywaybar.com/facts/faq.html ingredients: milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, skim milk, chocolate, lactose, milkfat, soy lecithin, artificial flavor), corn syrup, sugar, skim milk, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, butter, milk fat, less than 2% lactose, mono and diglycerides, salt, artificial flavor.  MILKY WAY® Brand Milk Chocolate Covered Caramels are gluten-free.   [note:  regular Milky Way bars contain gluten]
  • MILKY WAY® MIDNIGHT® Bar ingredients  (October 23, 2007) http://www.milkywaybar.com/facts/faq.html : semisweet chocolate (sugar, chocolate processed with alkali, cocoa butter, chocolate, milkfat, soy lecithin, vanilla extract, artificial and natural flavors), corn syrup, sugar, skim milk, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, less than 2% butter, milkfat, lactose, salt, egg whites, vanilla extract, artificial flavor  [note:  regular Milky Way bars contain gluten]
  • MixUps by Wonka (October 2007)
  • Mounds
  • Nabisco general statement: read label.  Wheat, rye, barley, oats will be listed
  • Necco:  (October 24, 2009)   http://www.necco.com/FAQs/Default.asp
Get answers to some of our most frequently asked questions.
Simply click on one of the questions below to view the answer.
{View All Answers}
Who can I contact regarding employment opportunities?
You can mail your resume and cover letter to:Department: Human Resources
Necco
135 American Legion Highway
Revere, MA 02151
Is it possible to go on a factory tour?
Since Necco is a FDA regulated food plant and due to insurance constraints, we are unable to provide factory tours.
Do you have a company store?
Our Candy Shoppe is now CLOSED at our factory location, however we do offer online sales of our products at our online webstore www.neccostore.com.
Where can I find Necco candies?
Necco’s product line, including seasonal products, is available to all distributors and retailers. Unfortunately, shelf-space in stores is limited. Store managers and corporate buying offices determine which items to stock based on consumer demand. You may want to ask your local store manager if he or she is able to stock the product that you are interested in. Additionally, some Necco products are seasonal and are not available year ’round.We do not sell our products at wholesale prices directly to consumers. A candy distributor in your area may be able to help. Check the Yellow Pages of your local telephone directory for a “Candy/Confectionery or Wholesale Distributor near you.We offer our Iconic candies for online sale though the following website: www.neccostore.comThere are numerous additional Candy and Food Web Sites that specialize in hard to find candy items. You may order the candy of your choice via these companies and have it shipped to your home. Please visit the following Web Sites for more information:www.bestbuycandy.comwww.acandystore.com

www.blaircandy.com

www.jackscountrystore.com

www.theonlinecandyshop.com

www.retrocandyonline.com

www.candyfavorites.com

www.candy4u.com

www.candywarehouse.com

www.crackerbarrel.com

www.georgehowe.com

www.grooveycandies.com

www.hometownfavorites.com

www.mikefeinbergcompany.com

www.snacc.com

www.vermontcountrystore.com

www.yummies.com

www.candydirect.com

www.bulkcandystore.com

www.oryans.com

www.sugarstand.com

www.sugarstand.com/brands-necco.html

www.candyxpress.com

www.candycrate.com

How is the assortment of Necco Wafers in a package determined?
Six hundred-pound batches of each wafer flavor are made. The wafers are then mixed together and packaged. While we make about equal quantities of each flavor, the reason some rolls have more or less of each flavor is that the assorting process is random. Trays of candies containing two or more colors are put in bins. They are added in rotation so that each color combination is represented, and then they start the cycle over again. As the candies move to the wrapping machines, they are mixed a little more. There are thousands of pieces of candy sliding into the wrapping machines and the 38 – 40 pieces that go into any roll is dependent upon which pieces are next in line. This also applies to Snack Size Necco Wafers.
Can I purchase a package with just one flavor of Necco Wafers or Sweethearts?
We do not package individual Sweetheart flavors other than Chocolate.
For packages of Necco Wafers in one flavor, please visit our online store at www.neccostore.comRelated Brands:
Necco Wafers®, Sweethearts®
Can I purchase Sweethearts with my own sayings on them?
We do produce custom conversation hearts (hearts with your own sayings). However, in order to purchase custom hearts, you must purchase a full production run of 3500 pounds. This equates to over 1.5 million tiny hearts!We can print up to 80 different sayings on the smaller hearts and 37 sayings on the larger hearts. Sayings can be repeated. Each saying can be no longer than two lines of four letters on the small hearts and two lines of six letters on the large hearts. All sayings must be approved by Necco. The lead time for placement of orders on custom hearts is eight weeks.To find out more about custom hearts contact us.Related Brands:
Sweethearts®Related Products:
Sweethearts Boxes
Which Necco products are Gluten Free?
We make the following products which do not contain gluten from wheat, rye, oats or barley: Necco Wafers, Mary Janes, Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses, Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (Valentines only), Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges, Haviland Thin Mints and Candy StixIn addition, Clark Bars, Skybars, Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties, Necco Candy Eggs (Easter), Talking Pumpkins (Halloween), Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers, Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews, ULTRAMINTS are also gluten free.
  • Nestle Milk Chocolate (October 2005)
  • Nestle Nips (October 2005)
  • Nestle Treasures (October 2005)
  • Nestle general statement:  gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley oats  (February 2004)
  • Nestle Seasonal Valentine Items:  Milk Chocolate Hearts, Milk Chocolate Butterfinger Hearts, Milk Chocolate Butterfinger Tigger, SweetTarts Lollipops (October 2005)
  • Nestle Seasonal Easter Items:  Baby Ruth Crème Egg, Butterfinger Nest Eggs, Caramel Nest Eggs, Milk Chocolate Nest Eggs, Peanut Butter Nest Eggs (October 2005)
  • Nestle Seasonal Christmas Items:  Milk Chocolate Jingles, Milk Chocolate with Butterfinger Jingles, Spree Candy Canes, SweetTarts Candy Canes (October 2005)
  • Newman’s Own: all sweet dark chocolate products, choc bar, butter toffee crunch  (January 2004)
  • Orbit Gum by Wrigley’s (see Wrigley’s entry)
  • Palmer’s Candy:  (October 20, 2006)  go to this link to view all their GF candy/chocolate:  http://www.rmpalmer.com/products.asp?department_id=9341372748
  • Pandero’s Delights All Natural Tapioca Cookies  (October 23, 2007)  (available in mini-snack bags from www.AllergyGrocer.com try this link:  http://www.allergygrocery.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=1248&Category_Code=Cookies&Product_Count=35 )  These are kind of like quarter size vanilla wafers.  http://www.panderosdelights.com/order.html
  • Payday (see Hershey’s entry)
  • Pearson Nips (see Nestle Entry)
  • Pez  (October 20, 2006)   http://www.pez.com/USA/about-us/ The ingredient information for Pez Candy is listed on the packaging.
    • For those allergic to nuts or dairy, we don’t have an analysis of our suppliers ingredients and are unable to determine if there may be cross contamination from ingredients shipped from those facilities. At the Pez Candy facility there is no cross-contamination; it is the only product we run on our line. If you are unsure about food allergies and Pez Candy, we advise you to not eat the candy and consult with a physician.
    • Pez Candy is gluten free. Mono- & di-glycerides sources are vegetable. To the best of our knowledge our product does not contain allergens as defined by Codex.
    • Following is a list of these Codex allergens:
      • Barley, oats, wheat, triticale and products of these
      • Crustaceans, shellfish, and products of these
      • Egg and egg products
      • Fish and fish products
      • Legumes, peas, peanuts, soybeans and products of these
      • Milk and milk products (lactose included)
      • Tree nuts, poppy seeds, sesame seeds and products of these
      • Sulfites in concentrations of 10 ppm or more
  • Pixie Sticks (see Wonka entry)
  • Pirate Booty by Robert’s American Gourmet (October 23, 2007)   Note:  these snacks can sometimes be found in snack size bags.   Are your snacks gluten-free, why doesn’t it say so on the bag?  All of our snacks except for Stealth Chips, CHAOS, Honey Wheat Pretzels, Veggie Tubes and Tubes are Gluten Free. Since gluten is used on other snacks at the plant, we do not put it on our bags. They run our snacks first, thoroughly clean the machines between runs, and train all the employees on allergen control to reduce the possibility of cross contamination. However, we cannot 100% guarantee that there can never be a cross-contamination.  http://www.robscape.com/files/faqs.php#q4
  • Pop Rocks Candy (October 24, 2009http://www.poprockscandy.com/faq.html Q: Are Pop Rocks Gluten-Free?  A: Yes
  • Pretzel Packs made by Ener-G Foods or Glutino (specially marked gluten free)
  • Pucker Powder Candy.  (October 24, 2009) All of our products are gluten-free.  Please give our office a call toll free to discuss the mini machine pricing at 888-460-4623. Regards, Bruce Goldstein, Pucker Powder Candy, Www.puckerpowder.com, 888-460-4623  Allergen Statement All of Pucker Powder’s current recipes and the processes are free of Major Food Allergens and their derivates. The Major Food Allergens are dairy, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans. Any and all peanuts and or tree nuts are processed in a separate room from the Pucker Powder products.
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup Miniatures & Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups  (see Hershey entry).   Double check miniature Easter Eggs…. I was informed by someone they may contain gluten.
  • Ring Pops (see Topp’s entry)
  • R.M. Palmer Products  (October 24, 2009)  610-372-8971 Monday-Friday 8am-5pm  http://www.rmpalmer.com/products.asp?department_id=9341372748 .
  • Rolo
  • Running Rabbit Licorice  (October 20, 2006http://www.sonomaspecialtykitchens.com/servlet/Categories?category=Running+Rabbit+Licorice
    • Running Rabbit Licorice is proud to be one of the few WHEAT AND GLUTEN FREE licorices available. In today’s barrage of candies and confections, it’s truly a treat to find an old idea made over in contemporary flavors that appeal to healthy and adult tastes. Running Rabbit is made with real licorice extract. All-natural, fat-free with no additives, no preservatives, no anise substitutes.
  • Runts by Wonka (October 2005)
  • Russell Stover: check label.  Gluten will be listed as wheat, rye, barley or oats
  • Russell Stover: PB Ghost, Buzzard Nest, Marshmallow Pumpkins  (September 2003)
  • Sandy Candy: (October 26, 2008http://www.sandycandy.com/faq.html Is Sandy Candy™ manufactured in a plant that uses peanuts, tree nuts, or milk, egg, wheat and soy products?  – No, there are no allergens in Sandy Candy.  What is Sandy Candy™ made of?  – Ingredients include: Sugar, Malic Acid, Artificial Flavors and colors (FD + C Yellow #5 + #6, Blue #1, Red #3, Red #40)  Is Sandy Candy™ manufactured in a plant that uses peanuts, tree nuts, or milk, egg, wheat and soy products?  No, there are no allergens in Sandy Candy.
  • Sees ( Almond Royal, Toffee-ettes, Asst Sugar Sticks, Sugar Twists, Dark Chocolate with Almonds Candy Bar, Candy Canes)  (January 2003)
  • Shockers (see Wonka entry)
  • Sixlets made by SweetWorks, Inc.  (October 26, 2008)   Sixlets Allergen Information:  More Chocolatey Sixlets and Original Sixlets.  More Chocolatey Sixlets and original Sixlets are gluten free, peanut free and nut free. They are made in a peanut and tree nut free facility. This product has some allergens – (Soy) lecithin & (Milk) whey powder.  P-Not Butter Sixlets  P-Not-Butter Sixlets do not contain peanuts or tree nuts. They are made in a peanut and tree nut free facility. This product shares some allergens – (Soy) lecithin & (Milk) whey powder, as that of our regular Sixlets. As our raw material supplier for P-Not Butter Sixlets cannot guarantee presence of gluten in the soy flour that we use for P-Not Butter Sixlets, we must say that this product may contain gluten as a precautionary statement.  Cross Contact of Products   To prevent cross contamination of P-Not Butter Sixlets with our other Sixlets, we implement production scheduling to prevent cross contact and cleaning & sanitation validation procedures (ATP) to monitor cleaning efficiency. We also pack these two products separately on separate packaging lines.  http://www.sweetworks.net/Pop-AllergenInfo.html
  • Skittles  (See Masterfoods Entry)  Smarties Brand Smarties (October 23,2007)
  • Smarties   (October 24, 2009http://www.smarties.com/allergen.html Allergen Statement Several years ago we took the lead in labeling allergen statements on our packaging. This is now a law. Smarties® and our entire line of products are free from all the known allergens, and they do not appear anywhere in our manufacturing facilities. Our new item, Bubble Gum Smarties®, may contain minute traces of soy lecithin.  We sell our products to many different classifications of trade, including “re-baggers.” A “re-bagger” buys products from many different companies and re-bags them in their own packaging. We cannot verify whether their manufacturing plants are free of nuts, soy, etc. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it was manufactured in one of our facilities and that it is allergen free.  Gluten Statement -  Smarties® and our entire line of products are gluten free. If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206″, you can be assured that it is manufactured in a facility that is gluten free and safe to eat if you have Celiac Disease.  All Ce De Candy, Inc. products contain no dairy, thereby eliminating the ingredient Melamine.  http://www.smarties.com/allergen.html
  • Snickers (No Crispy or No Poppables!!)  (October 23, 2007); see Masterfoods/M&M Mars entry)
  • SnoCaps (see Nestle entry)
  • Sour Patch Kids by Cadbury Scwepp’s (October 23, 2007)  Do Sour Patch Kids contain gluten?  No, Sour Patch Kids do not contain gluten. Manufacturing lines and ingredients may change from time to time. As such, it is recommended that you carefully review the product packaging for ingredient declarations prior to each use.  http://www.cadburyschweppes.com/EN/Brands/FAQs/detail.htm?ID=%7b80138C47-B35B-4CF9-ABF5-AE9AF32D71E4%7d
  • Spangler Candy  (October 24, 2009http://www.spanglercandy.com/spangler/newspr/techfaqs.php#Q3:
Q: My child has an intolerance to the gluten protein found in wheat. What products do NOT contain this ingredient?
A: Dum Dum Pops, Saf-T-Pops, Swirl Saf-T-Pops, Marshmallow Treats, Candy Canes, Cane Classics, Dum Dum Canes and Dum Dum Chewy Pops do not contain the gluten protein found in wheat, barley, rye, or oats.We have contacted our suppliers on the ingredients we use, including sugar, corn syrup, citric, malic, lactic acid, ascorbic acid, artificial flavors & colors, starch, release agents, and processing aids. These products do not contain the gluten protein that causes a problem for people with Celiac Sprue.

http://www.spanglercandy.com/spangler/newspr/techfaqs.php#Q3:

  • Spree (see Nestle entry)
  • St. Claire’s Sweets – (October 20, 2006http://www.econaturalsolutions.com/site/704463/page/308658 Each and Every St. Claire’s Organics Products Are:  100% Vegetarian, Organically Certified by Oregon Tilth and the USDA, Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free, Peanut and Tree Nut-Free, Dairy-Free, Corn-Free, Soy-Free, Shellfish and Fish-Free, Gelatin-Free, Casein-Free, Genetically Modified Organism-Free (GMO)
    • *If you have any questions what so ever about any of our ingredients  please contact us with your specific question at 1-877-684-5195, or e-mail us  at customerservice@econaturalsolutions.com  (All are gluten, casein, nut, egg, GMO, soy, corn, peanut, shell fish free and they are certified organic.   They have certifications from all their suppliers that they are gluten and all the other allergens free.    And available through www.econturalsolutions.com.
  • Starburst  Fruit Chews (October 23, 2007); see Masterfoods/M&M Mars entry)
  • Starburst JellyBeans  (March 2005)
  • Stretch Island 100% Fruit Snack  (October 20, 2006http://www.stretchislandfruit.com/new/faq.html Q: I have a gluten intolerance (celiac disease), can I eat Stretch Island Fruit Leathers?   A: Celiac sufferers and their parents or caregivers especially appreciate Stretch Island Fruit Leather, since it’s so straight foreword: 100% fruit.  The question regarding gluten in our product arises from concern over the ingredients used in the natural flavorings that are added to certain Fruit Leather flavors –specifically alcohols and/or vinegars that may be included. All of our flavor suppliers have provided us with written statement that there is no gluten in the flavorings that they supply us.   Also, according to the Gluten Intolerance Group:  “ Alcohols and vinegars properly distilled should not contain harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. This leaves the resultant liquid gluten-free unless a gluten-containing additive is inserted after the distillation process”  Also, please note that natural flavors are used only in the following flavors of Stretch Island Fruit Leather: Chunky Cherry, Sweet Strawberry, Truly Tropical, Wild Apple, Mucho Mango and Organic Strawberry (organic flavor).   **Melonie’s note:  available at most Trader Joe’s stores on the East Coast.
  • Sugar Babies/Sugar Daddy (See Tootsie Roll Industries)
  • Sunkist chewy candies -  Fruit Gems, Jelly Beans, Orange & Cream Chews, Super Sour Stars  October 2003)
  • Sunkist Fruit Slices (April 2004)
  • Swedish Fish by Trebor Allen (September 2003)
  • SweetTarts (see Wonka entry)
  • Swoops by Hershey’s (Regular, Reece’s, Almond Joy, York)
  • Tangy Taffy
  • Tart N Tiny (see Wonka entry)
  • Teenee Beanie (see Just Born entry)
  • 3 Muskateers (no date)  (remember to avoid 3 Muskateer Poppables, they contain gluten!)
  • TicTacs  (April 2003)
  • Tootsie Roll Industries, Inc. (October 24, 2009http://www.tootsie.com/index.html Which of your products is gluten free?  At this time, all of our confections are gluten free. We do not use wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.  Product List:
    • TOOTSIE ROLL INDUSTRIES, INC.
      • Tootsie Rolls
      • Tootsie Pops
      • Fruit Rolls
      • Tootsie Peppermint Pops
      • Frooties
      • Caramel Apple Pops
      • Dots
      • Fruit Smoothie Pops
      • Tropical Dots
      • Tropical Stormz Pops
      • Crows
      • Child’s Play
      • WildBerry Dots
      • Cella’s Milk Chocolate Covered Cherries
      • Cella’s Dark Chocolate Covered Cherries
      • Junior Mints
      • Charleston Chew
      • Junior Caramels
    • CHARMS COMPANY
      • Blow Pops
      • Super Blow Pops
      • Charms Pop
      • Charms Sour Balls
      • Charms Candy Carnival
      • Charms Squares
      • Zip-A-Dee-Mini Pops
      • Pops Galore
      • Fluffy Stuff  Cotton Candy
      • Andes
      • Sugar Daddy Pops
      • Sugar Babies
      • Sugar Mama Caramels
    • ALL CONCORD CONFECTIONS
  • Tops: (October 23, 2006) 1(800)489-9149, candyinfo@topps.com, or write to: The Topps Company, 401 York Ave. Duryea, PA 18642, ATTN: Consumer Relations Dept.    all, including:

Ring Pops, Push Pops, Baby Bottle Pops, Juicy Drop Pops and Chews, etc.  3. (All of our products are free of peanuts and gluten according to their phone rep today.)

  • Trident Gum all (October 24, 2009) Is Trident® gluten-free? Trident® does not contain Gluten  http://www.tridentgum.com/faq.html
  • Trolli Gummi: Peachie O’s, Squiggles, Sour Bite Crawlers, Octopus  (September 2003)
  • Turtles (see Nestle entry)
  • Utz Products  – GLUTEN FREE SNACK LIST  (October 24, 2009http://www.utzsnacks.com/nutritioninfo_celiacsprue.html GLUTEN FREE SNACK LIST
    For consumers who may have Celiac Sprue disease (also known as tropical sprue or gluten-sensitive enteropathy), Utz Quality Foods, Inc. manufactures a number of snack food products that DO NOT contain any of the following grains, or their protein derivatives:

    • Wheat (including durum, semolina, bulgur, couscous, graham, spelt and kamut).
    • Rye
    • Triticale
    • Barley
    • Oats
    • Einkorn

Grains that are believed to be safe include rice, corn, sorghum, amaranth, quinoa, and millet.

The citric acid, maltodextrin and monosodium glutamate (MSG) we use in some of our seasonings are manufactured in the United States.  The citric acid is made from the fermentation of corn-based dextrose and maltodextrin from the partial hydrolysis of cornstarch. MSG is the salt form of glutamic acid. It is not a source of free glutamate, as it is molecularly bound up as a salt. This compoud contains no protein gluten, e.g. gliadin.

It is also our understanding that adhering to a gluten free diet is also very important for those with an associated skin disease known as dermatitis herpetiformis. In addition, people who have been diagnosed with any of the following diseases should discuss with their physician the possible health benefits of adopting a gluten free diet:

  • Addison’s disease
  • Aphthous stomatitis
  • Dilated cardiomyopathy
  • Primary biliary cirrhosis
  • Peripheral neuropathy

Below is a list of Utz products that should not trigger the symptoms of celiac disease:
Potato Chips:
Fried in cottonseed oil

  • Regular, plain (flat, ripple, wavy cut)
  • Reduced fat
  • Barbeque
  • Carolina BBQ
  • Sour Cream & Onion
  • Salt & Vinegar
  • Salt & Pepper
  • Cheddar & Sour Cream
  • Red Hot
  • No Salt
  • No Salt BBQ
  • Crab
  • Honey BBQ
  • Mystic Kettle Cooked (plain, Sea Salt & Vinegar, Dark Russet)

Fried in peanut oil

  • Kettle Classics (plain, Dark Russet, Sweet Potato, Smokin’ Sweet BBQ, Sour Cream & Chive, Jalapeno)

Fried in sunflower oil

  • All Natural Kettle Cooked (Lightly Salted, Dark Russet, Sea Salt & Vinegar, Gourmet Medley)

Fried in shortening (partially hydrogenated soybean oil)

  • Home Style Kettle Cooked, plain

Fried in lard

  • Grandma Utz Kettle Cooked (plain, barbeque)

Corn Products:

  • White Corn Tortilla Chips
  • Restaurant Style Tortilla Chips
  • Baked Tortilla Chips
  • Cheesier Nacho Tortilla Chips
  • Corn Chips (plain, barbeque)
  • Popcorn (butter, cheese, white cheddar)
  • White Cheddar Cheese Curls
  • Baked Cheese Curls and Balls
  • Crunchy Cheese Curls
  • Puff ‘N Corn (plain, cheese, caramel)

Miscellaneous Products:

  • Mild Cheddar Cheese Dip
  • Cheddar & Jalapeno Dip
  • Mt. Misery Mike’s Salsa Dip
  • Sweet Salsa Dip

Please note that we believe the aforementioned product listing is accurate, but we can not completely guarantee it at all times.  It is possible that some of our suppliers may change the source of some of the raw materials they use to manufacture our various seasonings and flavorings without notifying us, as long as it does not alter the required ingredient statement, nutrition content, flavor profile, and shelf life.  As a consequence, we periodically contact all our ingredient suppliers to update our file for the purpose of determining if such generic food groups as flavorings, spices, certain colorings and even incidental additives (normally used as processing aids) may contain allergenic components and which may not be reflected in our current ingredient statement.  An additional complication to this matter is the potential fact that the manufacturing facilities of our ingredient suppliers may use common manufacturing lines to produce different formulations for accounts other than our own.  Obviously, these production lines are thoroughly cleaned between changeovers, but there is always the potential for trace contamination.  Notwithstanding the above concerns, we have been giving out the aforementioned list of Utz branded “safe” snacks to people who have celiac disease for a number of years, with obvious updates as our product line changes.  We hope this information is helpful to you.  Though we believe the information provided here is accurate, we can not assume responsibility for any undesirable consequences.  We encourage you to use this information in consultation with your physician or nutrition specialist.  If we can be of further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us again.  For our consumers who wish to learn more about gluten sensitive diseases, we encourage you to contact the Celiac Sprue Association using their toll free number, 877-272-4272.  You may also visit their website, www.csaceliacs.org. Other useful website are as follows:

  • The Celiac Disease Center at Columbia University www.celiacdiseasecenter.columbia.edu
  • Universty of Maryland Center for Celiac Research www.celiaccenter.org
  • The University of Chicago Celiac Disease Program www.uchospitals.edu/specialties/celiac/
  • Welch’s Fruit Snacks – all (April 2004)
  • Werther’s Originals
  • WonderBall (see Nestle entry)
  • Wonka: (October 24, 2009)   In the past, all Wonka candies were gluten free.  Now the website says to read the label on the candy or call them during Eastern Standard Time.  1-800-358-1971  8am-8pm
  • Wrigley’s:  (October 24, 2009)   Wrigley’s goal is to keep our online nutrition information up-to-date and accurate. However, we always recommend that you check our labels, or call 1-800-WRIGLEY, for the most up-to-date ingredient and nutritional information.
  • Yogo’s yogurt covered snacks by Kellogg’s (October 26, 2008) Question:  Do you have any gluten-free products?  Answer:  At this time, we do not offer products suitable for consumers on a gluten-free diet except as follows:  Kellogg’s® Eggo™ Syrup, Kellogg’s™ Fruit Flavored Snacks and Kellogg’s® Yogos are formulated gluten- free and may be acceptable for consumers on restricted diets   http://www2.kelloggs.com/ContactUs.aspx
  • York Peppermint Patties (see Hershey’s Entry)
  • Zours (see Just Born entry)

CUSTOMIZED M&M’s

CUSTOMIZED HERSHEY BARS

You can order customized plain Hershey Chocolate bars by going to this website:  http://www.hersheygifts.com Call 1-800-454-7737  (Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 10:00 p.m. EST & Saturday-Sunday: 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. EST)

  • To Order By Fax:    Call 1-717-534-5995; 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.  Please complete your online order, but instead of submitting, print out a hard copy of your order and fax it to HERSHEY’S at 1-717-534-5995. To avoid duplicate charges, fax your order only once. If transmission problems occur, please mark the second fax as a duplicate. Receipt of fax orders will be confirmed via fax within two business days.
  • To Order By Mail:   .  Print out a hard copy of your order and mail it to HERSHEY’S Gifts, PO Box 801, Hershey, PA 17033-0801. Please do not send currency. Sorry, no C.O.Ds.

DEFINITE NO-NO’s:

NOT GLUTEN FREE  KitKat

  • NOT GLUTEN FREE 1,000 Grand Bar by Nestle
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE 3 Muskateers Chewlicious Chocolate Flavored Chews
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE 3 Muskateers “Poppables”
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Brach’s Fruit Rippers (clearly lists wheat as ingredient)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Brach’s Candy Corns
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Brach’s Candy – ALL!  (October 20, 2006) As per phone conversation with Brach’s rep, no Brach’s Candies are considered gluten-free at this time.  This includes their fruit snacks.  Thank you for your interest in Brach’s and for contacting us about the gluten free status of our Brach*s candy products. For your information, we do not consider any of our products gluten free at the present time. Please be advised that we do plan to undertake a project to determine the gluten status of each and every one of our products. Thanks again for contacting us.
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Ghiradelli: white choc chips and choc masterpiece collection
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Goldfish (All Varieties)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Haribo  licorice, fruity pasta, sour spagetti, strawberry wheels  (January 2004)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Hershey Miniatures in Bulk Bags (clearly marked as containing malt as of October 20, 2006)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Krackle (Hershey’s)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE M&M Crispies (blue bag)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Magic Milk by Nestle

NOT GLUTEN FREE Milky Way :  What’s in MILKY WAY® Bars?  MILKY WAY® Bar is made of chocolate malt-flavored nougat and caramel covered with milk chocolate.   What are the ingredients in a MILKY WAY® Bar?  MILKY WAY® Bar ingredients: milk chocolate (sugar, cocoa butter, skim milk, chocolate, lactose, milkfat, soy lecithin, artificial flavor), corn syrup, sugar, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, skim milk, less than 2% milkfat, cocoa powder processed with alkali, lactose, malted barley, wheat flour, salt, egg whites, artificial flavor

  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Most Commercially Made Rice Krispy Treats  (usually contains malt)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Most HomeMade Rice Krispy Style Treats
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Most licorices unless purchased from a health food store and is clearly marked gluten-free
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Nestle Crunch  (contains barley)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Nestle Treasures Crunch
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Pretzel Flipz
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Reese’s Sticks (contains cookie/wafer) (Hershey’s)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Reese’s Crispy & Crunch
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Reese’s Brownie
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Reese’s Dipped Cookies
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Rice Krispy Treats  (contains malt)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Snickers Crispy/Cruncher
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Snickers Poppables
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Snyder’s of Hanover MiniPretzel Packs
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Sour Punch Candies (October 19, 2006):  according to their website http://www.sourpunch.com/faq/faq.aspx, this candy contains gluten and casein).
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Take 5 Candy Bar (Hershey’s)

NOT GLUTEN FREE Twizzlers Licorice (contains:  Corn syrup, flour, sugar, cornstarch, shortening, molasses, and flavorings are mixed together to make the candy)

  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Whatchamacallit Candy Bar (Hershey’s)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Whoppers (Hershey’s)
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE Zachary Brand Candy Corn (In regards to the e-mail that we recently received regarding the use of the listed ingredients used in the manufacturing of Candy Corn I must explain that these types of candies are technically gluten free.  However, we do in our facility have other items that do have ingredients that contain gluten ingredients and unfortunately we do not have the area in our manufacturing facility to segregate these items from one another.  Therefore there is an opportunity for there to be cross contact with storage containers and manufacturing equipment that could potentially lead to these candy corn items having trace ingredients of gluten.  So unfortunately I cannot guarantee one hundred percent that even though these candies do not contain any ingredients that contain gluten that this product had not come in contact with items and equipment that have.  Obviously we are very sympathetic as food manufacturers with issues such as allergens and other intolerances.  It is our desire to have as many people as possible to enjoy our candies and be able to eat them without fear of any health consequences.  However as a small manufacturing facility we cannot go to the lengths and measures that larger companies can in regards to segregation of ingredients, washing of equipment between shifts or having a separate facility to manufacture only certain products containing problem ingredients and thereby eliminating cross contamination issues.  I wish I had a more positive answer for your question but unfortunately in cases like this I would rather be sure than to indicate that there is nothing in the candies and have something happen that could jeopardize someone’s precious health.
  • NOT GLUTEN FREE/NOT EDIBLE:  Play Dough or PlayDough Mini Packs

Other non-edible “Treat” Options:

  • A Grab Bag from a Dollar Store such as 50 pack of miniature army men, etc.
  • Balloons
  • Books from the dollar store
  • Brightly Colored Pencils
  • Bracelets
  • Cars (like HotWheels, etc.)
  • Couple of Legos from a large tub of Legos
  • Crayola Model Magic (Individual Packs)
  • Crayons
  • Dress Up “stuff” (magic wands, boas, etc.)
  • Erasers
  • FunPads/Activity Pads from the Dollar Store
  • Gift Certificates (.50 increments to McDonald’s)
  • GLUTEN FREE green silicone friendship bracelets (available for order at $3 each – free shipping – by emailing Melonie Katz at OneSillyYak@yahoo.com; these are currently out of stock until enough interest arises)
  • Hair scrunchies
  • Magic Markers
  • MardiGras Beads
  • Mello Smello Puppies & Kittens Mini Boxes of Stickers $2 for bag of 20 at Wal-Mart
  • Mello Smello Retro Tattooes 20 mini boxes in a bag for $2 at Wal-Mart
  • MightyBeanz trading beanz
  • Neon GlowLites/Glo Bracelets/Glo Necklaces (order online, order on Ebay, buy at local Dollar stores)
  • Pencils
  • Pennies
  • Pinata Stuffers (Kazoos, whistles, toys, etc.)
  • Plastic Leis used at Hawaiian theme parties
  • Postage Stamps
  • Rubber Stamps
  • Sidewalk Chalk
  • SILLY YAK purple silicone friendship bracelets (available for order at $3 each – free shipping – by emailing Melonie Katz at OneSillyYak@yahoo.com; these are currently out of stock until enough interest arises)    **As of October 24, 2009, these are indefinitely out of stock.  Thanks to those who ordered in the past and helped support Celiac research.
  • Small Bottles of Bubbles
  • Small Spiral Notebooks
  • Stamps
  • Stickers
  • Temporary Tattoos
  • Toothbrushes
  • Trading Cards (Pokemon, YuGiOh, Baseball Cards, Bratz, etc.)
  • www.OrientalTrading.com (miscellaneous goodies)
  • www.SwizzleSticks.MakesParties.com (miscellaneous goodies, party supplies)

OPTIONS FOR DEALING WITH CANDY

THAT DOES CONTAIN GLUTEN:

  • Donate it to your local food bank
  • Gather it together & leave it on the kitchen table with a note to “The Pumpkin Fairy.”  The Pumpkin Fairy is notorious for swooping down your chimney and taking the unhealthy candy and leaving one nice “treat” that is generally a non-edible toy.
  • Have GF goodies on hand to “trade” your child for the unsafe stuff (that is what we do in the Katz household)
  • Save it to use for making a Gingerbread house for the holidays (just for viewing, of course!)
  • Some dentists will accept your child’s candy and will “trade” it for some healthy options
  • Sort it, “buy it back” from your child, allow him/her to use that money to buy more GF goodies
  • Sort it, separate it, toss it
  • Sort it, separate it, trade it with another child who can have that candy & trade for the GF goodies
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

%d bloggers like this: