Ore-Ida Fast Food French Fries

We have been using the Ore-Ida Extra Crispy Fast Food French Fries, which are gluten free, for a few months now when I need to grab something that looks “authentic” for Sam and Luke’s occasional “Happy Meal” treat. Normally, I like to bake my own potato wedge-style fries, with the skin still on, but they do not work very well in the McDonald’s french fry sleeve! :-D

These are NOT McDonald’s French Fries. The fries are Ore-Ida’s Extra Crispy Fast Food Fries that I put into a McDonald’s fry sleeve.

Again, NOT McDonald’s french fries.

Click here for a complete list of Ore-Ida’s Gluten Free Frozen Potato Products.

Click here for a complete list of Ore-Ida’s Vegan Frozen Potato Products.

I have also read reviews on various websites regarding McCain’s 5 Minute Fries, which a lot of reviewers seem to prefer over Ore-Ida. I have not tried them yet but will be on the lookout next time I need frozen fries. Sam and Luke used to enjoy the SMILES when they were in the early days of eating (maybe a better word would be gumming). The Baby Cakes are also pretty good.

Click here for a complete list of McCain’s Gluten Free Frozen Potato Products.

Click here for a complete list of McCain’s Dairy Free Frozen Potato Products.

I also wanted to share our favorite ketchup by 365 Organic which is available at Whole Foods Market. Growing up, I did not like ketchup at all and I would dip my fries in BBQ sauce instead. After trying organic ketchup a few years ago, I was surprised by how much I really liked it. In my opinion, I think organic ketchups are far superior in taste to their conventional counterparts. They have a more authentic and rich tomato flavor that does not leave a high-fructose corn syrup “feel” in your mouth. (OK, I have to sneak this in here (this is why I went several days without making a post, I got totally absorbed by an unexpected education on the food industry, it is alarming): Mike and I watched a documentary a few days ago called King Corn, and I highly recommend it! I think we all should know more about where our food comes from, especially with the growing concern over antibiotic resistant infections. It is available on NetFlix. Another great, eye-opening film is Food, Inc.)

I have purchased both the national brand organic ketchups and various store brand organic ketchups in the past and I think they all taste great. I buy several bottles of the 365 Organic at a time because the nearest Whole Foods is about 30 minutes away, but I do believe the last time I stocked up, they we’re only about $1.79/ea. (or something close to that).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

