Blackeye Pea Supper Dish, Focaccia and “Boston Market” Cinnamon Apples

I love this soup/stew concoction. My mom started making this when I was a kid and it is naturally GF. The perfect end to a cool Autumn day.

Blackeye Pea Supper Dish

1 can Blackeye Peas (DO NOT DRAIN)

1/2 lb. Bulk Sausage (I use a whole package of Jimmy Dean’s Light Sausage)

1/2 cup Green Bell Pepper, chopped (I omit this because I do not like cooked bell peppers, love them raw, just not cooked!)

1/4 cup Onion, chopped

1 Garlic Clove, minced

1 (14 1/2-ounce can) Diced Tomatoes

1/4 tsp. Black Pepper

1/4 tsp. Oregano

1 cup grated Cheddar Cheese (I use Sharp so I can use less and save on fat and calories)

  • Cook sausage, drain.
  • Add bell pepper, onion and garlic, cook for 5 minutes while stirring occasionally.
  • Add tomatoes and seasonings.
  • Add Blackeye peas with the liquid, stir to combine.
  • Cover and simmer 20 minutes.
  • Sprinkle with cheese and enjoy!

Blackeye Pea Soup

I got the recipe for this Focaccia bread from the cookbook Gluten-Free Baking Classics by Annalise G. Roberts, p. 180. I was going to post the recipe but that would require me to also post the recipe for one of her Bread Flour Mixes and I am a bit uncomfortable doing that, since it is her proprietary flour mix. So…buy the cookbook, I use it all the time!

Focaccia

“Boston Market” Cinnamon Apples…I got this recipe from Bigoven.com

3 large Apples (I used Jonathan apples)

2/3 cups Water

1/2 Tbs. Flour (I used Tom Sawyer’s)

1 tsp. Cornstarch

2 tsp. Butter Buds (I used Land O’ Lakes Butter Seasoning)

1/2 cup Brown Sugar

1/4 tsp. Cinnamon

1/8 tsp. Salt

Preheat oven to 350° F.

  • Peel and core apples.
  • Cut apples into slices and arrange the slices in a baking dish.
  • In a small bowl, combine the water with the flour, cornstarch, Butter Buds and stir until the dry ingredients are dissolved.
  • Add the brown sugar and cinnamon then stir until smooth.
  • Pour the cinnamon mixture over the apple slices.
  • Cover and back for 40 minutes, stirring the apples every 10 minutes.
Baked Cinnamon Apples

Scrumptious!

One Response

  1. [...] Posts Indigo Crow CafeVery Hungry Caterpillar CakeChocolate Chip Cookies with a Healthy TwistBlackeye Pea Supper Dish, Focaccia and "Boston Market" Cinnamon ApplesHomemade "Reames" Egg Noodles and "Bob Evans" Style Chicken and [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 162 other followers

